I apologise for not posting far more often. In spite of the silence, my free time in the late hours of the night has still been hard at work. Stay tuned for another Chaos Renegades/Warp Cult update.

20171006_003032

In order to prevent myself from burning out on painting a massive army, that in spite of being customized, uses a limited palette of colour, I have begun dividing my time between the models and the continuation of a massive terrain table.

That has brought me to today’s review of the Sarissa Precision Chateau and Fountain. This has been my first acquisition of laser-cut scenery. My opinion of the concept of laser-cut scenery has historically been very low. Compared to the alternatives offered by GW, FW Realm of Battle tiles and (especially) the out-of-print FW terrain, laser-cut scenery always seemed to lack dimension.

20171006_003039

With that said, while scouring the internet for scenery ideas for the Big Project, I came across the Sarissa Chateau. It occurred to me that in spite of that low opinion, I had never actually even tested laser-cut scenery.  I discovered the Chateau and liked it’s somewhat gothic look. Being similar enough to GW, yet unique enough to stand out, I decided to order it along with a Fountain.

What I found surprised me. It looked good. It was reasonably priced. Most importantly… it was incredibly easy to build!

I type easy to build with two caveats; the stairs, and the addition of floors. First, the stairs were the only construction challenge. They were simply a pain. My solution ended up being tweezers and patience. This was probably the longest part of the overall assembly.

My other concern was that this is not modular to the point of adding more floors. More floors can be added, but require additional cutting. Having seen the final product I have decided to build another to add a floor to the building. Four floors is better then three. However, this will require modification for fit.

The end result, and first attempt at laser-cut added up to perhaps two hours worth of assembly. I imagine that that time could be drastically reduced once beyond the first-timer uncertainty.

At this point, the idea occurred to me which was seconded by my three-year old son, that this would become the capital estate in the Big Project. Alas, we have Kalidor Manor!

While I cannot speak for all laser-cut scenery, I am happy with the model produced by Sarissa Precision and recommend them as a supplement to the GW scenery purists.

20171009_222814

20171009_222835

More to come on the Big Project.

As always, feedback is always welcome.

Regards,

Mr. Kalidor

 

 

